Life stages

What are the health issues?

Every cat is unique but certain health checks and health problems tend to arise at certain stages of life.

See each life stage below for more information on the most common health conditions and what sort of preventative health care should be considered.

There are six life stages for cats:

Kitten – 0-6 months

A period when the young cat is
growing rapidly and is usually not
quite sexually mature.

Junior – 6 months-2 years

During this time the cat reaches
full size and learns about life
and how to survive it.

Prime – 3-6 years

The cat is mature physically and
behaviourally, and is still usually
healthy and active, looking sleek and shiny and making the best of life.


Mature – 7-10 years

The cat is what we call 'Mature',
equivalent to humans in their
mid-40s to mid-50s.


Senior - 11-14 years

Takes the cat up to the equivalent of about 70 human years.


Geriatric - 15 years and

Many cats do reach this stage, some not showing any signs of being geriatric at all!